Crab NebulaTurbulence plays a major rolein all dynamical processes occurring in space and astrophysical plasmas such as mass transport, particle acceleration and heating. These phenomena lie at the heart of the current and future space missions dedicated to exploring the near-Earth plasmas such as ESA/Solar Orbiter, NASA/Solar Probe Plus and ESA/THOR (under review), which all promise unprecedented breakthroughs on longstanding problems of astrophysical turbulence. 
The workshop will bring international scientists together, with complementary expertise in theoretical modeling, numerical simulations and spacecraft observations to discuss the latest results on the problems of turbulence cascade, energy dissipation and their consequences on the plasma heating and particle acceleration in astrophysics, with an emphasis on solar and heliospheric problems. The workshop will explore theoretical topics, modern techniques of data analysis, recent development in numerical simulations, and the state-of-the art of the in-situ spacecraft observations.

The following topics will be adressed: magnetic_bubble

  • Solar wind turbulence: from MHD to electron scales.
  • Turbulence in exosolar plasmas (interstellar medium,  accretion disks, …)
  • Compressibility and anisotropy of MHD turbulence.
  • Energy dissipation, plasma heating and magnetic reconnection.
  • Kinetic turbulence: resonant and non-resonant wave-particle interactions.
  • Role of waves and instabilities.

There are a limited number of places to attend the conference (to 70 participants maximum) If you would like to attend and give an oral presentation or a poster you are kindly invited to submit an abstract in the “Registration and abstract submission” section above before the deadline. Please note there will be a limited number of slots for contributed talks. A final selection of the oral presentation will be made available after the abstract submission deadline.

Cost for accommodation is about 190€/week for a shared room and 250€/week for a single room (limited number), either in the conference center or in the Cargese village. Reservations are directly managed by the LOC through the conference web site. Lunches and a social dinner will be covered by the conference. For more information, please check the “transportation and Lodging” section.


Olga Alexandrova (LESIA, Obs. Meudon, FR), Stuart Bale (SSL, Berkeley, USA), Supratik Banerjee (IGM, Köln, DE), Gérard Belmont (LPP, Palaiseau, FR), Roberto Bruno (INAF, Roma, IT), Francesco Califano (Univ. Pise, IT), Enrico Camporeale (CWI, Amesterdam, NL), Benjamin Chandran (Univ. New Hampshire, USA), Chris Chen (Imperial College, UK), Christoph Federrath (RSAA, Canberra, AU), Sébastien Galtier (LPP, Univ. Paris-Sud, FR), Peter Hellinger (AS CR, Prague, Czech Republic), Patrick Hennebelle (CEA, Saclay, FR), Greg Howes (Univ. Iowa, USA), Sumire Kobayashi (LPP, Palaiseau, FR), Khurom Kiyani (LPP, Palaiseau, FR), Yana Maneva (CmPA, Leuven, BE), Milan Maksimovic (LESIA, Obs. Meudon, FR), Lorenzo Matteini (Imp. College, UK), Bill Matthaeus (Univ. Delaware, USA), François Rincon (IRAP, Toulouse, FR), Chadi Salem (SS, Berkeley, USA), Luca Sorriso-Valvo (Univ. Calabria, IT), Jason Tenbarge (Univ. Maryland, US), Francesco Valentini (Univ. Calabria, IT), Andrea Verdini (ASAP, Firenze, IT)

Melvyn Goldstein (NASA, Greenbelt, US), Eckart Marsch (MPS MPG, Lindau, DE), Thierry Passot (Obs. Côte d’Azur, Nice, FR), Silvia Perri (Univ. Calabria, IT), , Fouad Sahraoui (LPP, Palaiseau,FR), Alexander Schekochihin (Univ. Oxford, UK).

Marilyne Bazin (LPP, Palaiseau, FR), Lina Hadid (LPP, Palaiseau, FR),Colette Jan (LPP, Palaiseau, FR)


 Photos Credits (Top to Bottom): NASA, ESA, J. Hester, A. Loll (ASU); Romain Meyrand / Observatoire de Paris;  S. Kavosi/J. Raeder/UNH; Solar Dynamics Observatory/NASA.